Wow! It has been ages since my last post. I haven’t had a ton to share recently because I am essentially a mom (with some time off of course), but I will share a bit about my last six weeks with the Harts.

– I feel I have been extremely lucky to have been placed with such a wonderful family, and I am so sad to be leaving the kids. I have fallen in love with them, and I can’t imagine getting up every morning without their little faces greeting me!

Fred and Ernie messing around before school

Fred and Ernie messing around before school

– Ernie is probably one of the sweetest boys I have ever met. He is so caring and is always willing to take the pink cup when Fred refuses to drink from it or take the second shower. He is really laid back about almost everything, but is so funny about his clothes and socks and stuff. He socks can’t be wrinkled at all before he puts his shoes on or he takes them off to fix his socks. I literally had to tie up his shoes 5 times one morning, and even then I had to threaten “car snacks” if he took his shoes off one more time. He also hates wearing a jumper/sweat shirt. He generally hates anything with long sleeves.

IMG_6270

Window says “baby its cold outside” — coldest day of the year is 55 degrees… best winter ever!

– One day there was a sport carnival at school, and Ernie needed a red shirt (he had grown out of the ones he already had). I went all over town looking for one, but there was nothing in Mosman so I took the bus to this gigantic shopping center. I wound up in Target, and was able to find plenty of plain red shirts. However, Aussies take their 65-degree winters super seriously, and only sell long sleeves at this time of year, but I had no choice. Beth said she would cut the sleeves off if she had to (she didn’t!). Finding this one red shirt took the entire day. By the time I got back it was time for me to pick the boys up from school. Nanny problems… LOL.

Ernie, age 7, has the most beautiful blue eyes I have ever seen!

Ernie, age 7, has the most beautiful blue eyes I have ever seen! Being a goober with his vest.

– The other thing with Ernie is that he is a bit dramatic. He fell down the stairs at school, and the school called Beth and she called me. I was told he was unable to put weight on his knee and that it was bruised and swollen and he needed to go to the doctor. Beth said she wasn’t too concerned because he can be a drama queen at times, but asked me to get him from school and bring him to the doctor. She said if it was serious, she would obviously come home from work. I start freaking out at this point — thinking the poor kid broke his leg. I booked it to the school only to find Ernie in the nurse’s office with a skinned knee. And I am talking not even a bad skinned knee — no swelling or bruise. I couldn’t believe it. The nurse said I shouldn’t bother bringing him back to school because he would be more comfortable resting it for the day. I am surprised the doctor didn’t laugh when she saw him limping (yes! Limping) into her office. He refused to walk normally, but I saw him walk up the stairs perfectly so I knew he was fine. The doctor sent him back to school — after an $80 charge for a band-aid. The rest of the week was a nightmare. He wouldn’t put his knee in the the bath or get it wet. He would have melt downs about the little cut on his knee, claiming it was hurting him so badly he couldn’t walk at all. It was ridiculous.

Ernie on our ice cream date

Ernie on our ice cream date

– One day, Fred had a play-date so I took Ernie for an ice cream and to the local library. Because Fred has such a big personality, I think one-on-one time with Erns was really great for both of us.

– During the week, the boys are not allowed to play with electronics. TV and ipads and video games are not allowed until Friday night through Sunday night. One day, Ernie had a friend over on a Thursday and after his friend left he told me they had snuck the ipads into his room and been playing them for an hour! He would have gotten away with it but he is the most honest kid in the world and ratted himself out!

They refuse to smile for me when I get a camera out. They make the weirdest faces!

They refuse to smile for me when I get a camera out. They make the weirdest faces!

– Fred loses his temper easily, especially when he is exhausted. But he is such a cutie! He can get really goofy and silly, and he loves drawing games for me to play and worlds for me to live in complete with “Badies” that I have to beat. Ernie also creates these games, but Fred creates one everytime he draws. At one point he even drew me a certificate for being “terrific” and for “trying really hard at his games.”

Fred, age 5, has these adorable chubby cheeks and the softest skin.

Fred, age 5, has these adorable chubby cheeks and the softest skin. His eyes are more a hazel/green color.

– Some of my favorite moments with Fred are right before he goes to bed, and I read him a book. He is calm and snuggly and just the sweetest little thing. He always asks me to read to him, even when his parents are the ones putting him to bed. I think that will be the part I miss most with him. He has a little Tasmanian Devil stuffie that he bought with his own pocket money, and he calls him Mr. Tasmanian Devil (yes, I know, most creative name ever LOL), and I always have to hunt him down after the book so I can tuck Freddie in with Mr. Tasmanian Devil. Once he left Mr. Tasmania Devil in Mum’s car, and she wasn’t going to be home until late so I had him sleep with Pugsley (my stuffed bear), and he loved it.

Having too much fun for bed.

Having too much fun for bed.

– After that the boys were obsessed with Pugsley. They would sneak into my room and hide him somewhere in the house and make me find him. They found the whole game hilarious. They usually gave away what room he was in by saying something like “he is definitely not in the lounge” — meaning it definitely was! haha.

Snuggles before school!

Snuggles before school!

– One night they were asking me about TJ, and when I showed them a picture they were surprised that he wore glasses. They started being total goof-balls and pretending to be TJ without his glasses (which, according to them, is completely and utterly blind). They began proposing to chairs and asking if he proposed to the wrong person before he proposed to me because he couldn’t see me! LOL They were cracking themselves up.

– Fred’s little family nickname is Puff or Puffle! I think its just the cutest little thing. For some reason it really suits him. I couldn’t help but to join in.

Play-date Fridays! Ollie (Fred's friend) in the middle.

Play-date Fridays! Ollie (Fred’s friend) in the middle. Naturally, no one would smile for me.

– This last week with the boys has been a tough one at times. They leave for the UK tomorrow night, and neither of them have had play dates in a few weeks. They are just sick of each other! The whole time I have been here, the boys have hardly fought with each other but this last week they have been at each other’s throats. I simply have no tolerance for tattle tales, especially when it is “Fred is annoying me.” So I have done my best to keep them in separate rooms (though then they complain they are bored!) Anyway, we have done a ton of puzzles!

Puzzling times. 8 puzzles. One week.

Puzzling times. 8 puzzles. One week.

– I also got to know some of the parents of the boys friends, and I am also sad to say goodbye to them. Lucy has said that I should call her with anything through my travels. She has been really sweet, and it was really great of her to offer me that kind of support.

Ollie! Such a good ice cream eater.

Ollie! Such a good ice cream eater.

– I spend my weekends with friends from UltimateOz (mostly) that are in Sydney. Alicia has a hot tub at her place, so I have spent many hours relaxing in that. My first weekend with the Harts, a group of us rented a car and went to Palm Beach. It was just over an hour’s drive. The whole day was full of laughs! We had a great time. We stopped at a harbour on the way back just to wee and took a walk around, but I guess we parked in a 5-mins only parking spot. We couldn’t have been there more then ten minutes, but we wound up with a $175 ticket…So that sucked. We did split it five ways, so it could have been worse, but we were kicking ourselves all the way home.

This is the view we got for our $175 ticket...

This is the view we got with our $175 ticket…

– The next weekend, Sam, Alicia, Chloe and I all stayed at WakeUp! hostel. That is where we all met, so we thought it would be fun to bring it back to where it all began. We got all dressed up and we were going to go to Vivid (a light show at the opera house and Circular Quay). We started the night at SideBar (literally attached to WakeUp!). It is a terrible bar. We said we weren’t going to go there at all, but we were hanging out with some guys who wanted to start there. Anyway, we never ended up leaving and before I knew it, it was 3am! It was an awesome night though. It really is who you are with and not necessarily where you are or what you are doing.

Me, Chloe and Alicia at VIVID

Me, Chloe and Alicia at VIVID

– The following weekend, we went to Alicia’s for hot tubbing. We went to Circular Quay for Vivid, and while we made it to Circular Quay this time, we only caught the last 5 minutes of the lights because we didn’t get there until nearly 11. We called it a night then, and I stayed at Alicia’s to help move her to a new apartment the next day. Luckily, I catch a ferry home from Circular Quay to get back to Mosman, so I was able to check out the lights the last few weekends VIVID was going on. The ferry is great because the view of the opera house and the bridge when I come into town is amazing! It never gets old.

The Palm Beach crew. Jess, Sam, me, Chloe and Alicia (in that order).

The Palm Beach crew. Jess, Sam, me, Chloe and Alicia (in that order).

– Last weekend, Chloe and I went to Scary Canary together. I had been there one other time. It’s a bar full of backpackers and travellers, and has been attended by the people on Geordie Shore (basically the UK version of Jersey Shore. I don’t care much about that, but most of my friends here are into it LOL). So while it has been extremely fun both times I went, I don’t think I would want it to be a regular spot. When we were at the bus stop, it was about 40 mins for the next bus (and it was already after 4am). We were having a good time waiting though. There were plenty of people waiting for the same bus so we were making friends. Then one of the guys we had met at Scary Canary said he would get a cab. I was the first stop so I said my goodbyes, but apparently it ended up being over a $60 cab! I felt bad about not offering to pay a portion, but then again I was totally fine with waiting for the bus soooo I didn’t really feel that bad LOL.

Opera House during Vivid!

Opera House during Vivid!

– This weekend Chloe and I finally made it to Newtown! I have been wanting to go out there since I arrived. I have heard nothing but great things (well, until recently I have heard a lot of stuff about violence in the area sooooo that was a bit nerve-wracking, but Chloe and I stuck together). Newtown has definitely got that towny feel (rather than city), and it was a great way to change things up. Apparently it is known as a gay and lesbian friendly area. Anyway, I loved it. We went to Zanzibar, and there was a rooftop bar as well as a dance area down stairs. It was a funky little bar. Chloe and I danced the night away, and it was so much fun! We stayed in a pretty decent hostel for the night, so it was all great fun.

Pig piles with Chloe and Alicia.

Pig piles with Chloe and Alicia.

– Beth and Sam had told me about this great burger place in Newtown, and so I gave Aussie burgers one last chance. It was worth it! They were really good! The place was sketchy though! It is the definition of a place you would call a “hole in the wall”. Chloe and I walked by it twice. If Sam and Beth hadn’t told me what it was like, I am not sure I would have even bothered to go in. There was no sign or anything, just a white door with graffiti all over it. The place is called Mary’s, and we went in and it was super dark inside with skeletons and other creepy street art painted on the walls and the music was really loud. We could hardly hear each other. But the burgers were great and so were the fries! I have finally had an Australian burger satisfy me, so I can’t complain.

Weekends in the hot tub

Weekends in the hot tub

– I have been having so much fun with this whole engagement thing too! Boys will start chatting my friends and me up, and I will go with it for a while. Eventually Chloe or I will drop the bomb that I am engaged… the looks on their faces!! Hahaha gets me every time! LOL

Out tonight!

Out tonight!

– Today, Chloe and I spent the day in the city. It wasn’t too cold so we hung out in the sun at the Opera Bar. Taking in the view of the bridge and opera house. All in all, it has been a really nice weekend.

IMG_6134

Me and Alicia from our trip to Palm Beach.

Anyway, that about sums up my last six weeks. It has been quite an adventure. I am kicking myself for not nannying sooner. I have loved it, and am considering nannying again after my East Coast trip. Sam and Beth have said they would love to have me back. They have been really great! I leave for the East Coast on Friday!! Grace comes back to Sydney on Wednesday, and I am looking forward to catching up with her again. I feel like it’s been ages since I have seen her. I can’t believe the East Coast is FINALLY happening!! 🙂

